Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

For Installatron Sales: sales@installatron.com
interfaSys
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:56 am

Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby interfaSys » Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:34 am

This could apply to lots of different apps, but it's more of a problem with cloud apps.

If users start to have multi-GB clouds and you create an archive before every app update, you're going to end up with a lot more data to send to your DR site.

Unfortunately we can't remove the data folder via the Installatron installation editor as it's greyed out. What are our options?
Olivier
interfaSys
Web, mobile, hosting product and service development experts

Phil
Staff
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:06 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby Phil » Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:49 am

Olivier,

We'll update the ownCloud package so that the data directory is de-selectable. I'll have another update on this later today.

Thank you,
Phil
Phillip Stier
Installatron Co-Founder

interfaSys
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:56 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby interfaSys » Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:56 am

Thank you Phil :)
Olivier
interfaSys
Web, mobile, hosting product and service development experts

Phil
Staff
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:06 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby Phil » Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:19 am

Hello,

This change will be included in 9.0.4 which will be released next week.

Thanks,
Phil
Phillip Stier
Installatron Co-Founder

interfaSys
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:56 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby interfaSys » Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:07 am

I'm running 9.05
From the admin panel, when I look at the "Files and tables" page of an Owncloud installation, I can't deselect the "data" folder. It's greyed out.
Olivier
interfaSys
Web, mobile, hosting product and service development experts

Phil
Staff
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:06 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby Phil » Sat Nov 16, 2013 5:42 pm

Hello,

This change was pushed back until 9.0.6 which will be released mid this upcoming week. Sorry for the wait.

Thanks,
Phil.
Phillip Stier
Installatron Co-Founder

interfaSys
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:56 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby interfaSys » Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:42 am

Seems the update was pushed and completely broke Installatron. trying to load the plugin from within DA gives us a blank page:

Code: Select all

Unable to load the web page because the server sent no data.
Error code: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE


I've found the logs and it seems the ionCube loaders have not been updated

Code: Select all

[20-Nov-2013 19:55:39 Europe/Paris] PHP Fatal error:  The file /usr/local/installatron/lib/boot.php cannot be decoded
by this version of the ionCube Loader.
 If you are the administrator of this site
then please install the latest version of the ionCube Loader.
 in Unknown on line 0


And repair doesn't work.

Solution is to do:

Code: Select all

 # cp /usr/local/lib/ioncube/ioncube_loader_fre_5.4.so /usr/local/installatron/lib/
# cp /usr/local/lib/ioncube/ioncube_loader_fre_5.4_ts.so /usr/local/installatron/lib/
Olivier
interfaSys
Web, mobile, hosting product and service development experts

Phil
Staff
Posts: 486
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:06 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby Phil » Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:43 pm

Hello,

Version 9.0.6 is on schedule for release Thursday.

If any problems persists, these commands from the troubleshooting guide should correct the problem:

Code: Select all

rm -fr /usr/local/installatron/lib /usr/local/installatron/etc/php.ini
curl -O http://dal01.installatron.com/installatron-plugin.sh
chmod 755 installatron-plugin.sh
./installatron-plugin.sh -f


Thanks,
Phil
Phillip Stier
Installatron Co-Founder

interfaSys
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 10:56 am

Re: Don't include the data folder in owncloud backups

Postby interfaSys » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:54 am

Hello Phil,

Repair didn't work yesterday. The process indicated that v0.9.6-1 was being downloaded, but due to ioncube loaders being too old, the plugin could not be initialised.

But since Installatron now loads properly, I was able to test the new feature and it is working. I was able to succesfully remove the data folder from backups. thank you for implementing this.

Cheers,

Olivier
Olivier
interfaSys
Web, mobile, hosting product and service development experts


Return to “Suggestions and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests