Joomla 1.5

For Installatron Sales: sales@installatron.com
marcoby
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:23 am

Joomla 1.5

Post by marcoby » Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:13 am

Hi there,

Would it be possible to add Joomla 1.5 CR3? This is the first stable 1.5 release and is not compatible with 1.0.xx.

Rowan
Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by Rowan » Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:17 am

Hi,

As a general rule we don't include Release Candidates, so we'll be waiting for 1.5 final before adding it to Installatron.

Cheers,
Rowan.

shultman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:11 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by shultman » Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:16 am

Hi,

Joomla! 1.5 Stable is out now. Will it be possible to have it added to the list?

Rowan
Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by Rowan » Tue Jan 22, 2008 6:49 pm

Hi,

Yes, we will start adding Joomla 1.5 now. Though Installatron 5 is within days of final release so we'll probably save it for that.

Cheers,
Rowan.

david-andrew
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by david-andrew » Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:44 am

It would be absolutely superb if you would include Joomla like this:

Joomla 1.0.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Joomla 1.5.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Because Joomla version 1.0.x and Joomla 1.5.x are very, very different and allot of users might decide to keep using Joomla 1.0.x the following year.

shultman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:11 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by shultman » Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:53 am

david-andrew wrote:It would be absolutely superb if you would include Joomla like this:

Joomla 1.0.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Joomla 1.5.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Because Joomla version 1.0.x and Joomla 1.5.x are very, very different and allot of users might decide to keep using Joomla 1.0.x the following year.


True, this is an excellent suggestion.

Rowan
Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by Rowan » Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:27 pm

I haven't looked at Joomla 1.5 yet, but it's quite different is it?

We can certainly do as you suggest. If upgrading is supported from 1.0 to 1.5 then we'll add 1.5 as a new branch within the existing installer, otherwise we'll make 1.5 a new installer. And I have a note to make sample data optional.

shultman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:11 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by shultman » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:32 am

Joomla! 1.5 is quite different, especially the database.

There is no way to UPGRADE from 1.0.x to 1.5, only MIGRATION is possible.
A clean fresh installation of 1.5 is needed, where exported data from the 1.0.x can be included during the installation process, with a file called migrate.sql.
I don´t know if this migration process can be scripted.

david-andrew
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by david-andrew » Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:24 am

Indeed, a upgrade is not possible... The best option would be to have a new installer for the Joomla 1.5 branch.

If you are going to do this, it would mean allot to me! You should put a "donation" button on your website so I can share the extras profit you will be making possible for my company. :D

Joomla 1.0.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Joomla 1.5.x branch
Option 1: no sample data
Option 2: sample data

Rowan
Staff
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:39 am

Re: Joomla 1.5

Post by Rowan » Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:52 am

phpBB3 has the same "migration" idea, rather than an upgrade path. Not very auto-installer friendly unfortunately, though it's not uncommon.

Interesting that Joomla has changed so much though. The old version is one of the best scripts we install, and it's certainly the most-installed in our lineup (by a lot).

Post Reply